Knowing China

DSC_0442

/Pelle går rundt i vårt (snart) nye nabolag/

Hello again! So it ‘s time to begin to adapt to a new life, yes already. To get some furniture (a lot of good neighbours have given us furniture since they’re going home), to learn street-names (not exactly the easiest thing in the world) and walk around alone. ALONE. Yes, it may be cowardly of me – but a moment ago I wouldn’t even buy some bread across the street…not without mom. I’m still very confused over all the chinese (and the lack of English), and the city is so big. I walk alone in Tønsberg, but our good, old city is nearly as big as the block where we live. Yep it’s true. But I learn every day, just like a few hours ago – when I sat in a taxi with a driver that couldn’t speak English, no chinese associates answering their phones and my dad laughing at how frustrated i looked – and i just wanted to find a mobile-store… But the days go by – and I like the city more and more. Later!

//Hei igjen! Så var det på tide (allerede) å begynne å tilpasse seg ett nytt liv. Skaffe møbler (mange flotte naboer som har gitt oss møbler siden de skal hjemover igjen), lære seg gatenavn (ikke akkurat det letteste i verden) og gå rundt alene i gatene. ALENE. Ja, det er kanskje pysete av meg – men i stad ville jeg ikke gå og kjøpe brød engang…ikke uten mamma. Jeg er fortsatt veldig forvirret over alle kinesisken (og mangelen på engelsk), og byen er så utrolig stor. Jeg går alene i Tønsberg, men vår gode, gamle by er ca. like stor som kvartalet der vi bor nå. Yep, it’s true. Men jeg lærer hver dag, slik som i stad – hvor jeg satt i en taxi med en sjåfør som ikke kunne engelsk, ingen kinesiske bekjente svarte på telefonen og pappa bare lo av hvor frustrert jeg så ut – og jeg som bare skulle finne en mobil-butikk… Men dagene går – og jeg liker byen mer og mer. Snakkes!

 

Leave a Reply

